Monday 23rd October, 2017
Translate Language:::

Ministers, N/Central Govs shun APC youth Award in Lafia

Ministers, N/Central Govs shun APC youth Award in Lafia

North Central State Governors and some Ministers selected for an award by the All Progressives Congress (APC), North central youth wing as re­cipients of Muhammadu Buhari gold award for good leadership and that of Senator Ahmed Bola Tinubu award of excel­lence, did not turn up for the event in Lafia the Nasarawa State capital on Saturday.

The governors who are of the ruling All Progres­sives Congress that since 2015 has been in the lead of affairs in the north central failed to honour the event in person but assigned their representa­tives for the award.

The AUTHORITY re­ports that apart from the absence of the governors and other recipients who could have added colour to the occasion, the over­all turnout was poor.

Reacting to questions on a phone conversation, the organiser of the award who is the North central youth leader, Hon Terver Aginde said the aim of the award was not to have the hall filled to its capac­ity but to pass a message across to Nigerians and leaders of the past.

Terver, while deliver­ing his speech during the award, stated, “Those in power with Buhari at the moment did not be­lieve in the “CHANGE” agenda, as they were in the APC as a cover up for their elitist role played during the last adminis­tration of the PDP”

“They are only in the APC for their selfish in­terest which if not to seek elective position, it is about defending their loots under the APC plat­form in the guise of being members,” he added.

Those listed for the award as expected for the Muhammadu Bu­hari Award are Senator George Akume, Gover­nors Rochas Okorocha and Aminu Tambuwal, Senator Rabiu Kwank­waso, Chief Audu Ogbeh, Dr Ibe Kachukwu, Sena­tor Aisha J. Alhassan and Rt Hon Rotimi Amaechi.