TETFund restates commitment to accountability, congratulates ECAN

January 28th, 2018

By Felix Khanoba

The Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund) has restated its commitment to ensure accountability and transparency in its various intervention programmes in universities, polytechnics and colleges of education in the country.

TETFunda��s Executive Secretary, Dr Abdullahi Bichi Baffa, made this known during the inauguration of the newly elected officials of the Education Correspondents Association of Nigeria (ECAN) in Abuja over the weekend.

Baffa, who was represented by TETFunda��s Director of Corporate Affairs and Public Relations Department, Mr Benn Ebikwo, said the recent launch of TETFund Monthly Digest was one of the measures put in place by the organisation to enhance transparency and accountability in the disbursement of its funds.

a�?Much more has been done at TETFund and the issue of accountability has been put in place. The TETFund Digest was to open our books to the world that we have nothing to hide,a�? Baffa said.

He congratulated ECAN for a successful election and appealed to members of the association to continue to act as one family, just as he commended the relationship between the agency and the media.

Speaking at the event, the Chairman of ECAN, Mr Chuks Ukwauto, assured of the associationa��s commitment to the efficient reportage of the nationa��s education sector, adding that measures would soon be rolled out by the new executive to achieve the set goals.

Ukwauto commended the robust relationship between ECAN and TETFund, as well as other government agencies, saying that members of the association, who are seasoned journalists, would continue to play their role to ensure the nationa��s attain its desired place in the education sector.

Those elected as the new ECAN officials include Mr Ukwuatu Chuks of Lagos Television as Chairman, Mr Yekeen Nurudeen of the International Centre of Investigative Reporting as Vice Chairman, Mr Clement Idoko of Nigerian Tribune as Secretary and Mr Felix Khanoba of The AUTHORITY Newspaper as Assistant Secretary.

Others are Director of Welfare; Mr Akon Godfrey of Abuja Inquirer, Treasurer; Temitope Mustapha of Voice of Nigeria and Financial Secretary; Oweh Innocent of Daily Independent Newspaper.

Similar Post You May Like read more
Just In read more