Kano Assembly resolves crisis, as former Speakers emerges Deputy Speaker

May 17th, 2018

From Maduabuchi Nmeribeh, Kano

The crisis that rocked Kano state House of Assembly was finally put to an end on Thursday during a plenary session that saw the immediate-past Speaker of the House, Hon. Alhassan Rurum emerging the Deputy Speaker.

Rurum, who resigned his Speakership position 11 months ago in a controversial circumstance had led 24 members of the House in an attempt to impeach the Speaker, Hon. Yusuf Abdullahi Ata.

The failed attempt to impeach Ata, however, consumed the positions of the Chief Whip and Deputy Majority Leader.

The timely intervention of Governor Abdullahi Umar Ganduje saved the House from tearing itself apart.

About 36 members of the House, including the Speaker, Ata, witnessed the swearing-in of Rurum as Deputy Speaker.

The plenary session which lasted for about an hour, saw members from both factions exchanging pleasantries at the end, an indication that peace has, at last, returned to the House.

Announcing the changes in the House leadership, Speaker Ata who congratulated the new Deputy Speaker said, “I received information that a new Deputy Majority Leader and Chief Whip have been appointed in the persons of Hon. Muhammad Bello Butu Butu and Hon. Baffa Danagundi of Kano Municipal constituency, respectively.”

The Speaker added that Hon. Sanusi Bataitya would serve as Majority Leader, while Hon. Ayuba Labaran Durum would occupy the position Majority Whip.

Speaking after his swearing-in, Rurum said, “I accept this position as the members of the Assembly unanimously agreed.”

Similar Post You May Like read more
Just In read more