Voting commences at APC national convention

June 23rd, 2018

-Okorocha refuses to shake Izunaso at convention ground

By Chuks Oyema-Aziken

Voting has commenced at the National convention of the All Progressive Congress (APC).

Katsina State delegates led by President Muhammadu Buhari are the first to vote at the convention holding at the Eagle Square, Abuja.

Following Katsina in the voting, are delegates from Kebbi.

The Vice-President, Prof Yemi Osibanjo, Senate President, Bukola Saraki, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, governors, National Assembly members were all at the convention.

Earlier in his welcome address,  Chairman, National Convention Committee, Alhaji Abubakar Badaru Mohammed, Governor of Jigawa State had urged delegates to strike a balance between the various interest in their choice of aspirants.

According to him, the struggle to “hold positions in the party is normal politics and price to pay for being party of the moment”

In his speech, outgoing National Chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun stated that he is leaving APC a better party.

Meanwhile, Imo State Governor, Rochas Okorocha refused to greet Senator Osita Izunaso when both men met at the convention ground.

Both men had met face to face during last minute campaign to woo delegates.

Governor Okorocha is seeking to replace Izunaso as National Organising Secretary with one of his cronies.

In his speech, President Muhammadu Buhari implored aggrieved members to keep faith with the party.

He urged them to put the party ahead of their personal considerations.

“All must come together to ensure success in the coming polls,” the President said.

Similar Post You May Like read more
Just In read more