5 Professors, 26 others emerge SANs

July 12th, 2018

By Ameh Ejekwonyilo

The Vice Chancellor of the Lagos State University, Prof. Olarenwaju Fagbohun, the Director-General of the Nigerian Law School, Prof. Isah Chiroma, and 30 other eminent lawyers have been shortlisted for the conferment of the rank of Senior Advocates of Nigeria (SAN), by the Legal Practitioners Privileges Committee (LPPC).

Other prominent lawyers named for the prestigious awards are the Attorneys-General of Lagos and Ondo States – Mosediq Adeniji Kazeem and Adekola Adeyeye Olawoye; Prof. Mohammed Mustapha Akanbi of the University of Ilorin (UNILORIN), Prof. Isah Hayatu Chiroma, Prof. Wahab Olasupo Egbewole, Prof. Oforinze Dike Amucheazi and Prof. Oluyemisi Adefunke Bamgbose, the only female among them.

Also on the list announced by the Secretary of the committee and Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court, Mrs. Hadizatu Mustapha are: Oba Maduabuchi, Essien Essien Udom, Metong Robert Urombo, George Chiedu Igbokwe and Olubowale Taiwo.

The list also has Oluwole Osamudiame Iyamu, Stephen Ojomeko Adehi, Olusegun Akintayo Akinbiyi, Emmanuel Ozoemenam Achukwu, Kenneth Chukwuemeka Ahia, Louis Maduforo Alozie, Adeyinla Patrick Olumide-Fusika, Johnson Olalekan Ojo, Wole Seun Agunbiade, Olayode Olumide Delano and Tanimu Mohammed Inuwa.

The rest are Sonny Oluchukwu Wogu, Adewale Eyitemi Atake, Ikhide Ehighelua, Edmund Chinonye Obiagwu, Cosmas Ikechwkwu Enweluzo, Ishiaka Dikko Mudi and Olabode Olutoyin Olanipekun, son of legal luminary, Chief Wole Olanipekun SAN.

Announcing the new SANs on Thursday in Abuja, the LPPC Secretary told journalists that a total of 106 lawyers with 83 under advocacy and 23 under academic applied for the new rank.

The Supreme Court Registrar revealed that at the end of the 135th plenary session of the LPPC, 31 were found worthy of being conferred with the prestigious rank.

She hinted that the prestigious rank was conferred on the beneficiaries as a mark of excellence having distinguished themselves in their career.

Meanwhile, the new SANs would be sworn-in on September 24 during the 2018/2019 new Legal Year of the Supreme Court.

Similar Post You May Like read more
Just In read more