Senate confirms Smith, receives AMCON, FCSC nominees

July 17th, 2018

By Ignatius Okorocha

The Senate has confirmed the appointment of former Inspector-General of Police (IGP), Alhaji Musiliu Smith, representing the South West zone, as the Chairman, Police Service Commission,(PSC) and six other members.

The Upper House also approved the appointment of Justice Clara Bata Ogunbiyi representing the North East region and Mr. Lawal Bawa, a retired Assistant Inspector-General of Police (AIG) from the North West zone, as full time commissioners.

Others are Muhammad Najatu (North West), Braimaoh Adogame Austin (South-South), Mr. Rommy Mom (North-Central) and Dr. Nkemka Oshimiri Jombo-Ofo (South East) as members of the commission.

The confirmation of their appointments followed the consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Police Affairs, chaired by Senator Abu Ibrahim (APC Katsina South) which screened the nominees.

Meanwhile, President Muhammadu Buhari has requested the confirmation of Mr. Muiz Banire, as the chairman of the Assets Management Corporation of Nigeria (AMCON) and Bello Tukur for the Federal Civil Service Commission, (FCSC) as chairman.

Buhari in a letter he addressed to the Senate President, Senator Abubakar Bukola Saraki, also nominated 12 other commissioners into the FCSC.

The nominees are Moses Musa, Waziri Umaru, Ahmed Bello Mahmud, Ahmed Sama, Iyabode Odulate Yusuf and Shehu Umar Danyaya.

Others are Fatai Lafaye, Michael Chukwuemeka, Joe Philip, Ibrahim Muhammed, Aminu Saidu, and Simon Etim.

The letter on AMCON titled “Constitution of the Governing Board of the Assets Management Corporation of Nigeria (AMCON)”, reads:

“In compliance with section 10(1) of the Asset Management Corporation of Nigeria (AMCON) Act 2010, it is my pleasure, to forward, for confirmation by the senate, the name of Mr. Banire Muiz Adeyemi as chairman of the governing board of the Asset Management Cooperation of Nigeria. His CV is hereby, attached.

“It is my hope that the distinguished senate will consider and confirm the nominee in the usual expeditious manner.

“Please accept, distinguished Senate President, the assurances of my highest consideration”.

The President in the letter on the FCSC, titled: “Request for confirmation of appointment of the chairman and 12 commissioners for the Federal Civil Service Commission”, said: “In compliance with the provision of Section 154(1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic if Nigeria 1999 (as amended), I write to request the confirmation by the Senate, the appointment of the following nominees as chairman and commissioners in the Federal Civil Service Commission.”

The chairman of the commission is Dr. Bello Tukur from Katsina State while the commissioners are Moses Musa (Adamawa), Waziri Umaru (Borno), Ahmed Bello Mahmud (Jigawa), Ahmed M. Sama (Kebbi), Princess Iyabode Odulate Yusuf (Ogun), Shehu Umar Danyaya (Niger), Fatai Adebayo Lafaye (Oyo), Chief Michael Chukwuemeka (Anambra) and Joe P. Philip from Rivers State.

Those with renewed appointments are Alhaji Ibrahim Muhammed (Kaduna), Prof. Aminu Saidu (Kogi) and Simon Etim from Akwa Ibom State.

Similar Post You May Like read more
Just In read more