Labour Party extends NWC tenure, suspends eight national officers

October 12th, 2018

National Executive Council (NEC) of the Labour Party, has said that the decision of the party’s National Executice Committee (NEC) to extend the tenure of its National Working Committee (NWC), Alhaji Abdul Salam led was to to further strengthen the party ahead of the 2019 general elections.

Labour Party had at its NEC meeting on the 9th of October, 2018 in MInna, voted to extend the tenure of the NWC.

A member of the committee, Hon. Kelly Ogbalor, who moved the motion for extension of tenure for the NWC of the party, noted that there was an urgent need to extend the tenure of the officers, stating that the elections are near and there would be no time for preparations.

NEC which articulated its constitutional responsibility to decide on and convene National Convention and Congresses as stipulated in Article 13(B) VII and IX of the party’s constitution, also exercised its right by approving the tenure extension of the National Working Committee members for another one year.

The LP NEC also passed a vote of no confidence on some members of the National Working Committee (NWC) of the Labour Party, for alleged anti-party activities, and approved a motion from Hon. Luke Ezeanokwasa, for the suspension of the erring members.

Labour Party EC, which also accused the members of exhibiting what it described as anti-party activities and non-challant attitude to constitutional duty, therefore ratified the siuspension of Callistus Uju Okafor (Deputy National Chairman), Ebere Ifendu (National Publicity Secretary), Bobo Atari Adou (National Vice-Chairman South South), Maman Bukar (National Vice Chairman North-East), Hosannah Samuel (Deputy National Women Leader), Veronica Ogudu (Deputy National Women Leader South-East), Hajia Zanaib Moh’d  (Asst. Financial Secretary) and Andrew Ukpobitere (National Youth Leader).

Similar Post You May Like read more
Just In read more