NERC grants UNIBEN license to generate 15 mega watts solar power

November 15th, 2018

From Kenneth Iguisi, Benin City

The Nigeria Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC) has granted the University of Benin (UNIBEN) a licence to generate 15 mega watt photo voltaic solar power project.

The project which is being driven by the United Kingdom branch of the University Alumni body, is billed to operate under a Public Private Partnership arrangement to complement the 7.5 electrification project being undertaken by the institution.

Vice Chancellor of the University, Prof. Faraday Orumwense made the revelation on Wednesday at a Media briefing heralding the 44th Convocation/48th Founder’s Day lecture Ceremonies of the Institution which begins on Monday November 19th 2018.

He said the University will confer the honorary Doctor of Law (LLD) Honoris Causa on the Benin monarch, HRM. Oba Ewuare II who recently marked two years anniversary on the throne of his forebear.

He said a former Managing Director of Access Bank Plc, and Alumnus of the institution, Mr. Aigbojie AIG-Imokhuede on Friday November 23rd, 2018 deliver the Founder’s Day lecture of the University.

He said the immediate past executive Secretary of the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFUND), Prof. Suleiman Bogoro, will deliver the Convocation lecture.

He also said, Archbishop of church of God Mission international and Chancellor, Benson Idahosa University (BIU), Magaret Idahosa will also be conferred with honorary degree of Doctor of letters (D.Litt) Honorary Causa.

The Septuagenarian, according to him, was being honoured “for her outstanding contributions to education and human Capital development” in Nigeria.

He said a Senior professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, School of Medicine, College of Medical Sciences, University of Benin, Prof. Augustine Orhue will bag the honour of professor Emeritus during the Ceremonies.

Other eminent personalities to be honoured during the presentation of prizes, award of Post-Graduate Diplomas and conferment of higher degrees (Masters and Doctorate) are among the 11, 832 graduands who are to be awarded various degrees.

A total of 134 graduands bagged first Class honours, 240 post Graduate students will be conferred with Doctorate degrees.

Similar Post You May Like read more
Just In read more