Enugu Council polls- APC faction submit list of Candidates

From Maurice Okafor,Enugu

Amidst iunsettled internal wrangling within the Enugu state chapter of All Progressives Congress (APC),the party has indicated interest to participate in the State council election to be conducted on February 29,by the Enugu State Independent National Electoral Commission (ENSIEC), with both factions of the party submitting it’s own list of candidates to ENSIEC.

The pioneer Deputy state chairman of the party,Comrade A .C.Ude,who spoke to newsman in Enugu yesterday, stated that he conducted the primaries that produced candidates of the party based on his status as a caucus member of the party in Enugu state,apart from his being the deputy state chairman of Deacon Okey Ogbodo led faction.

Comrade Udeh who was also the Enugu state Youth Coordinator for ,2019 President Buhari’s re-election said ENSIEC has acknowledged receipt of his list of APC candidates for the council election, asserting that the acclaimed Enugu State APC EXCO led by Chief Ben Nwoye are no longer eligible to conduct affairs of the party based on their disqualification by the court.

A copy of his letter to effect to ENSIEC chairman titled, ‘List of APC Chairmen and Councillors Csndidates in Enugu state,’made available to newsmen reads,

“This is to notify you of the authentic list of chairmen and Councillors of the All Progressives Congress(APC) in the recent primaries conducted and supervised by the authentic Enugu APC EXCO on 21st January 2020”

“We are aware and just as it is a known fact that Barr Ben Nwoye and his purported EXCO leadership in Enugu state is not qualified to supervise,conduct and submit list of candidates to ENSIEC for the forth coming local government elections in Enugu state.This disqualification is based on the ruling of the court of Appeal Enugu division, dated ,17th day of January 2019, before his Lordship Justice A M Liman”, Ude asserted.

The list of Enugu APC chairmanship candidates forwarded to ENSIEC based on primaries conducted by Comrade A C Ude includes Mr Odo Benedict for Isi Uzo local government, Ugwoke Valentine for Igbo Eze South, Chief Chukwuma Ojukwu(Enugu North),Kingsley Anime(Enugu East),Ugwu Peace (Nsukka),Onwukwe Chukwuemeka Praise(Oji River),Vincent Nwafor(Awgu) and Hon Mrs Chika Mama for Udenu,among others.

THE AUTHORITY gathered from reliable sources that Barr Ben Nwoye faction has equally submitted it’s own list of Candidates for the Enugu state council election to ENSIEC.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

This News Site uses cookies to improve reading experience. We assume this is OK but if not, please do opt-out. Accept Read More