Governor Yahaya Bello swears in 17 commissioners, 30 Special Advisers

By Noah Ocheni, Lokoja

Kogi state Governor, Alhaji Yahaya Bello on Wednesday in Lokoja charged the newly sworn-in commissioners to be accountable in their services and always make themselves accessible to the people of the state.

The Governor gave the charge on Wednesday at the swearing-in of commissioners at the Lugard House barely 48 hours after being sworn in for a second term.

The Governor also announced appointment of 30 new Special Advisers and their portfolios.

He told the 17 newly appointed commissioners that human capital development as one of the main thematic areas of the new direction administration must be respected to the latter.

“Every commissioner as well as all Ministry, Department and Agencies MDA must operate an open door policy and make themselves available to the people because human capital development would form the nucleus of this administration”.

The governor also warned the newly appointed commissioners not ruin the hard earned reputation on fiscal accountability with corrupt practices whilst in office.

” The anti corruption agencies have scrutinized us based on petitions written by various people who are not happy with the way we carry out our reforms, and they have found us clean ,don’t tarnish our reputation with corrupt practices, anyone found wanting will not be speared ” he said.

He said that the commissioners were chosen based on their personal merit and those that returned after serving during first term was based on their performance.

Hu urged them to reciprocate the gesture to justify the confidence reposed on them by the people who gave the administration second term in office.

He cautioned against all forms of sectionalism, stating that anyone caught in the act will be shown the way out and urged them to be accessible to the people both at the constituencies level and office.

The new commissioners and their portfolios are as follows.
Muhammed Sani Ibrahm SAN – Attorney General, and Commissioner for Justice,
Asiru Asiwaju Idris – Finance, Budget and Economic Planning,
Saka Haruna – Health, Abdulsalam Ozigi Deedat – Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs and
Daniel Oneal Ejigbo – Rural Development.

Others are Abubakar Sadiq Ohere – Works and Housing,
Kingsley Olorunfemi Fanwo – Information, David Apeh -Agriculture, Wemi Jones Ojo – Education, Science and Technology, Omofaiye Adewale – Environment, Isah Idachaba – Culture and Tourism while
Joseph Baron Okwoli is in Transportation ministry.

Gabriel Yunusa Olofu – Commerce and Industry, Fatima Kabir Buba – Women Affairs and Social Development,
Abdulmumin Danga – Water Resources, Idris Musa – Youths and Sports Development,
While the ministry of Solid Minerals and Natural Resources has Abubakar Bashir Mohammed as Commissioner respectively.

In the same vein, the Governor appointed Nasiru Ohiani as the Special Adviser on Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Ohiani replaced Abdulmumin Okara as the SDGs boss.

The former Director General Protocol, Dr Gabriel Ottah was redeployed as Special Adviser, Education, Science and Technology.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

This News Site uses cookies to improve reading experience. We assume this is OK but if not, please do opt-out. Accept Read More