Cover News

FG cancels visas for US, UK, China, others

* bars Nigerians there from returning home

By Chesa Chesa

The Federal Government has cancelled the visas already issued to visitors from the 13 countries from which flights and entry had earlier been banned because of the Coronavirus pandemic.

The countries are China, the United Kingdom, the United States of America, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, Norway, Netherlands and Switzerland.

Minister of the Interior, Rauf Aregbesola, made the announcement while briefing State House correspondents on decisions taken by the Federal Executive Council (FEC) chaired by President Muhammadu Buhari at the Aso Rock Villa, Abuja.

He said that no new visas would be issued to such citizens or residents, while Nigerians living in those countries are equally barred from coming home in the next four weeks.

Visa on arrival policy, which Nigeria had recently reserved for some countries, has also been suspended, the Minister said.

These travel restrictions will however, take effect from Saturday, and last for an initial period of one month, he added.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

This News Site uses cookies to improve reading experience. We assume this is OK but if not, please do opt-out. Accept Read More