Anambra towns inaugurate new executives in Abuja

By  Daniel Tyokua

Anambra State Towns (People) Association ,ASTPA, has inaugurated the newly elected officials that will run affairs of the union for a tenure of three years.

This followed the successful expiration of Engr Ezennia Ike Iwenofu led executives from 2015-2021.

In his speech, the outgone President-General, Iwenofu who commended the support of members, said  the association which was established in 2003 as an umbrella body of the various town unions of Anambra state in FCT has been doing well for progress of members.

He explained that on his assumption of office in 2015, members’ welfare was a key issue that led to the establishment of Ground life assurance, Group Health insurance, effective multiple purpose cooperative societies, skill acquisition and empowerment of the youths.

Other achievements he listed include in-house lecture on contemporary issues of interest to the town unions in particular and Ndi Anambra in general, mediation in resolving conflicts among some member town unions and  development of a robust and sustainable in-house fund raising template for the Union’s activities.

Iwenofu urged the new executives to sustain the unity, love and peace among members, especially mobilization of members for good work.

He pledged his commitment to ensure that the union succeed in carrying out the activities.
In his acceptance speech, the 4th President -General, Arinze Anadu unveiled 10 point agenda transparency, responsiveness, welfare of members, reconciliation, conducive meeting venue, youths and members skill acquisition.

Others include time management, ASTPA will have a pride of place, ASTPA relationship with Government and strategic share holders and review of ASTPA  constitution.

“These are the core mandates we shall pursue and on behalf of this new executive council, we promise you the deliverables”.

Anadu disclosed that about 141 town unions are registered with ASTPA, Abuja, which he called on friends and well – wishers whose town unions are not registered with ASTPA to make haste to register with the union.

Those elected to lead the association are Chief Arinze Anadu, Okechukwu Emmanuel, Festus Agbazue, Michael Okeke for the positions of President General (PG), Vice President, General  Secretary and Assistant General Secretary. 
The positions of Treasurer, Legal Adviser, PRO and Social Welfare went to Fabian Obibueze, Matthew Okeke, Chukwuka Ezekwugo and Charles Ifediora respectively. Uche Igwilo, Financial Secretary; Uzo Ezeonwuneme, Assistant Financial Secretary; Nestor Okeke, Provost and; Chidozie Okafor, Ex – Officio.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

This News Site uses cookies to improve reading experience. We assume this is OK but if not, please do opt-out. Accept Read More