FG constitutes governing board for secondary schools’ commission

The Federal Government has announced a governing board for the newly established National Senior Secondary Education Commission (NSSEC).

Director, press and public relations of the Federal Ministry of Education, Ben Goong,  who disclosed this in a statement in Abuja, said the governing council of National Business and Technical Examinations Board (NABTEB) has also been reconstituted. 

According to the statement, the NABTEB’s council has the former Executive Secretary of the National Human Rights Commission, Prof. Bem Angwe as chairman. 

,”The council has Prof Bem Angwe as Chairman and  Abbas Hassan, Abdu Ajileye, Umar Mustaphaa and Prof James Okoro as members.”

The statement further said that the council had been mandated to aggressively pursue the relevance and acceptance of its examinations, improve its revenue generation and sustain the culture of probity and good corporate governance.

Goong also listed membership of NSSEC board to include Dr Nimota Akanbi as Chairman and Ibrahim Mohammed, Dr Kabir Kabo, Dr Habiba Suleman, Joan Ogu, Asubiojo  Olaoluwa, Adizuie Eluoka, Rabi Eshak and Fela Bank-Olemoh Eniola as members.

He noted that the mandate of the board was to set standards that would ensure effective teaching and learning at the senior secondary school level of our 6-3-3-4 education system.

He said the appointments were to provide leadership and guidance to the examination body, reposition entrepreneurship, business and technical subjects in the educational system in response to industry needs.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

This News Site uses cookies to improve reading experience. We assume this is OK but if not, please do opt-out. Accept Read More