Cover News

NBC issues 65 operating broadcast licences

By Adelola Amihere

Following the approval by the federal government, the National Broadcasting Commission (NBC), has released the list of 65 companies and institutions of learning that has been granted Radio, Digital Television and University Campus Radio Broadcasting operating licences

In a statement released by the NBC and signed by the Assistant Director, Public Affairs, Ekanem Antia, a breakdown of the list released showed that 43 companies have been granted FM Radio Broadcasting Licenses; 8 Campus FM Radio broadcasting licenses; 1 Community Radio Broadcasting License and 13 Free- View Digital Terrestrial Television Licences.

Some of the companies granted FM Radio broadcasting licenses include the Nigeria Police Force, the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps and Nigerian Customs Service amongst others.

Akwa Ibom State University, Nuhu Bamali Polytechnic Zaria, Ambrose Ali University, Ekpoma, Abubakar Tatari Polytechnic Bauchi as well as Abuja Municipal Area Council AMAC Community Radio were among those granted Campus FM Radio Broadcasting licences and Community Radio Licence respectively.

While Blue Print Newspapers, AMMASCO Communications, Wealth Chanel TV, Discovery Media and Hamada Global Concept LTD were among the 13 companies granted Free -View Digital Terrestrial Television Licences (DTT).

The Commission while calling on the Companies, Institutions and Companies listed to collect their letter of grant of provisional operating licences however revealed that there were no available frequencies for assignment for Lagos and Abuja.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

This News Site uses cookies to improve reading experience. We assume this is OK but if not, please do opt-out. Accept Read More