Cover Politics

About 6000 delegates expected at PDP convention – Gov. Fintri

… As Govs. Wike, Emmanuel, Darius chair sub-committees

By Myke Uzendu, Abuja

Governor Ahmadu Fintiri of Adamawa state has disclosed that over 6000 delegates will be attending the elective National Convention of the main opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The party also inaugurated 15 sub-committees ahead of its October 30 – 31 national convention that will take place at the Eagle Square in Abuja.

Fintiri who chairs the national convention organizing committee stated this at the Presidential Campaign Office, Legacy House in Abuja on Thursday, shortly after inaugurating 15 sub convention committees in a ceremony attended by top party functionaries including Governors Nyesom Wike, Duoye Diri and Seyi Makinde of Rivers, Bayelsa and Oyo states respectively.

Addressing newsmen at the event, Fintiri said, 
“We are expecting over 6, 000 delegates by our new constitution and we are fully prepared for that. We’re expecting everybody in every ward that is a delegate to attend the convention.”

He further affirmed that the leadership tussle in the party has largely been addressed, adding that the party is forging ahead to reposition itself ahead the general elections. 

“We are moving on. I am the chairman of the convention committee and you can see that we are doing our work.

Everybody is happy and participating. I don’t see any crisis in this party” he said.

On task of the amendments of the party’s constitution, Fintiri stressed the importance of allowing the committee to complete its job, “I don’t want to pre-empt anybody’s job. The work is segmented into sub-committees. The constitution committee is working, and I will wait for the report to be submitted before I make any comment on it,” he added.

Meanwhile, the party has appointed Governors Wike, Emmanuel and Darius as chairmen of Special Duties, Constitutional Amendment  and Contact and Mobilisation sub-committees respectively.

Other appointments as announced by Senator Duoye Diri include Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, Mohammed Bello Adoke, Ifeanyi Okowa and Solomon Arase as chairmen of  zoning, screening, screening appeal, accreditation and security committees.
Others are Ahmadu Fintiri (Electoral), Godwin Obaseki (publicity), Bala Mohammed (Venue), Mariya Waziri (Welfare and Entertainment), Ibrahim Dankwambo (Transportation), Biodun Olujimi (Protocol), Nuhu (Medical) and  Ibrahim Tsauri (Secretariat).

The governor was evasive on the status of its embattled National Chairman, Prince Uche Secondus and his eligibility in participating at the forthcoming National Convention.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

This News Site uses cookies to improve reading experience. We assume this is OK but if not, please do opt-out. Accept Read More