Gov Bello dissolves 21 local govt councils

From Noah Ocheni, Lokoja

The Kogi State Governor, Alhaji Yahaya Bello on Tuesday in Lokoja approved the dissolution of the 21 local government councils in the state.

The dissolution, according to the release signed by the Chief Press Secretary to Kogi State Governor, Onogwu Muhammed was sequel to the constitution of the State Independent Electoral Commission (SIEC) and the expiration of the tenure of Administrative Team of the 21 local government areas of the State.

The administrators and their team according to the release are to handover to the Directors of Local Government (DLG) in their respective local government areas from 4th of March, 2020.

The release further disclosed that the dissolution of the council administrators and their team was in line with the preparations of the state government to conduct free, fair and credible elections at the local government levels soon.

The governor therefore appreciated them for their profound contributions to the development of their respective councils and the state at large.

The release said the dissolution of the local government area Administrative Team takes immediate effect.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

This News Site uses cookies to improve reading experience. We assume this is OK but if not, please do opt-out. Accept Read More