Ganduje Resets Kano APC As Party Goes Digital

From Maduabuchi Nmeribeh, Kano

As preparations for Local Government elections gather momentum in Kano state, Governor Abdullahi Umar Ganduje has reset the state chapter of the All Progressive Congress (APC), with the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Alhaji Usman Alhaji heading a Central Committee that will ensure that the party solidifies its grip at the grass roots.

Ganduje also inaugurated Committees at the Local Government and Ward levels across the three Senatorial Zones, being manned by members of his cabinet and party chieftains.

Ganduje said after a holistic review of the party’s performance in the 2019 general elections which was impressive, there was need to reposition Kano APC so as to sustain its status as the winning and ruling party in the state.

He also stressed the need for the party leadership to go digital in line with international best practices, for proper documentation and execution of party activities.

The AUTHORITY reports that Ganduje had before now, met with all the APC caucus leaders from all the 44 Local Government Areas, including representatives of 484 political Wards in the state.

He added that all members of the state and National Assembly under the platform of the party are being carried along in the re-setting process.

Ganduje, who spoke during the inauguration of the Report Collation Committees, targeted at the formation of new set of Wards and Local Government Areas Caucus, said APC will leave no stone unturned in ensuring victory in the forthcoming Local Government elections and other elections that will follow.

According to him, “to make our party stronger and more modern, we need to practice our politics this way.

“As we are running away from analogue way of practicing politics, we are indeed inching towards digital political practice. And we are committed to doing this, which also include dishing out of Terms of Reference to all the set of people saddled with the responsibility of coming up with reformed caucus at these levels.”

He said there are two Committees for each Senatorial zone, which include Local Government Committee and Ward Committee.

In all, six Committees has been inaugurated for the three Senatorial zones in the state, as each Committee is given Terms of Reference in line with repositioning the party for better performance.

For Kano South Senatorial District’s Local Government Caucus Committee, Musa Iliasu Kwankwaso, Commissioner for Rural and Community Development is the Chairman; with Dr Muhammad Tahar Adam, the Commissioner for Religious Affairs, as member; and Dr. Zahra’u Muhammad Umar, Commissioner for Women Affairs and Social Development, as Secretary.

While the Local Government Ward Caucus, from the Kano South, has Mukhtar Ishaq Yakasai, Commissioner for Special Duties, as the Chairman; Dr. Kabiru Ibrahim Getso, Commissioner for Environment, as member; and Barr. Ibrahim Mukhtar, as the Secretary.

For Kano North Senatorial District, the Local Government Caucus has Nura Muhammad Dankadai, Commissioner for Planning and Budget, as Chairman; Shehu Na-Allah Kura, Commissioner for Finance and Economic Development, as member; and Barr. Musa Abdullahi Lawan, Commissioner for Housing and Estate, as Secretary.

In the Local Government Ward Caucus, from the same North Senatorial District, Malam Muhammad Garba, Commissioner for Information, is the Chairman of the Committee; Dr Mariya Mahmoud Bunkure, Commissioner for Higher Education, as a member; and Muhammad Bappa Takai, Commissioner for Science, Technology and Innovation, as Secretary of the Committee.

For Kano Central Senatorial District, the Local Government Caucus has Murtala Sule Garo, Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, as the Chairman of the Committee; Dr Aminu Ibrahim Tsanyawa, Commissioner for Health, as a member; and Kabiru Ado Lakwaya, Commissioner for Youth and Sports, as Secretary.

While Local Government Ward Caucus, from Kano Central, has Ibrahim Ahmed Karaye, Commissioner for Culture and Tourism, as Chairman; Muhammad Sanusi Sa’id Kiru, Commissioner for Education, as member; and Mahmoud Muhammad Santsi, Commissioner for Commerce, as Secretary of the Committee.

However, the Central Collation Committee, that would harmonize all reports from the six Committees, is chaired by the SSG, Alhaji Usman Alhaji; with Ali Bukar Makoda, Chief of Staff; Rabi’u Sulaiman Bichi, former SSG; Arch. Aminu Dabo, former Managing Director, Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA), as members; and Barr Musa Abdullahi Lawan, Commissioner for Housing and Estate, as the Secretary of the Committee.

Ganduje mandated that all reports from the six Committees be submitted to the SSG’s Central Collation Committee in both electronic and hard copies for easy reference point.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

This News Site uses cookies to improve reading experience. We assume this is OK but if not, please do opt-out. Accept Read More