Ikpeazu to host flag-off of Okpara’s centenary anniversary, Sept 30

By Emma Okereh

The flag-off of the Centenary birthday anniversary for Dr. Michael Iheonukara Okpara, a nationalist and Premier of former Eastern Region of Nigeria, 1959-1966, will hold on Wednesday, September 30, in Umuahia, Abia State.

The event will officially flag-off series of other activities lined up to immortalize the great administrator who was born in 25 December, 1920 and died in 17 December, 1984.

The flag-off program, the Authority learnt, will feature three key events; a leadership award presentation to the Governor of Abia State, Dr. OKezie Victor Ikpeazu, a public presentation of the authorised biography of Michael Okpara and the unveiling of prototype design of Michael Okpara Leadership Centre in Umuahia.

Organisers of the event , the Michael Okpara Foundation (MOF) and Verbatim News Network Limited (VNNL) said yesterday in a press statement jointly signed by Chief Uzodinma Okpara (Omekannaya), son of Dr. Okpara, on behalf of Michael Okpara Foundation and Mr. Tobs Agbaegbu, Chief Executive Officer of Verbatim News Network Limited explained that the Okpara Centenary programme and activities are meant to immortalize the patriot, elder statesman of repute and uncommon administrator under whose tenure as Premier, the eastern region of Nigeria was quoted as being one of the fastest growing economies in the world between November, 1959 and January, 1966.’’

The Committee explained that the Governor of Abia was elated that Umuahia, capital of Abia State was chosen for the project flag off ceremony, out of many towns and state capitals in the present South East and South South geopolitical zones that presently fall under the eastern region at the time.

The Committee pointed out that the Centenary Progamme will climax in a big and historic event before the end of the year 2020, when a Centenary Anniversary lecture will take place and a cross section of notable Nigerian leaders and institutions will be honoured and decorated with the Okpara Leadership award.

Among those that will receive the Okpara Leadership award (posthumous heroes’ award) include, former military Governor of the Eastern Region, Dim Chukwuemeka Odumegwu-Ojukwu, and first civilian Governor of old Imo State, Chief Sam Mbakwe. In addition, one of Nigeria’s few surviving nationalists, a former Minister of Aviation, Chief Mbazulike Amaechi, Engr. Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu, founder and publisher of Champion Newspapers and Dr. Peter Odili, former Governor of Rivers State, are listed to receive Lifetime Achievement Award.

Others who will also receive Okpara leadership awards are: Nigeria’s Former President, Dr. Goodluck Jonathan and former Vice President, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar for Gold Medal Award. Also 10 Governors from various parts of the country as well as Mr. Peter Obi, former Governor of Anambra State, Chief Timipre Silva, Minister of State, Petroleum, Science and Technology Minister, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu, and President General of Ohaneze Ndigbo, Chief Nnia Nwodo: for Exemplary Leadership award.

Highly distinguished legislators and political actors were also listed to receive awards. These include Dr Bukola Saraki, former Senate President, Senator Victor Ndoma-Egba, former Senate Leader, Dr. Godwin Maduka, founder of Las Vegas Institute of Pain and Medical Research, High Chief Obiora Okonkwo, chairman of the Dome Entertainment Centre, Abuja and Engr. Chidi Izuwah, the Director General, Infrastructural Concession and Regulatory Commission.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

This News Site uses cookies to improve reading experience. We assume this is OK but if not, please do opt-out. Accept Read More