FG inaugurates governing council for 12 ‘Jonathan Universities’, one other

By Felix Khanoba

The Federal Government has inaugurated new governing councils for the 12 universities established across the six geo-political zones of the country under the administration of former President Goodluck Jonathan.

Inaugurating the councils in Abuja on Monday alongside that of the newly established Federal University of Health Sciences, Otukpo, Benue State, Minister of Education, Malam Adamu Adamu, called on them to come up with creative ideas that will boost the quality of education delivery in the nation’s university’s system.

While expressing the need for the councils to ensure that funds available to the institutions are prudently utilised, Adamu cautioned against unnecessary interference in the day-to-day running of the universities.

His words: “There should be no interference and micro-management of the day-to-day activities (of the universities). You have to lay policies for the universities and ensure more funding for them.

“The major critical areas of challenge is inadequate funding as well as judicious use of available resources, so let me advise you to come up with new creative ways to improve funding in your institution “

“You will have to block the loopholes where the IGR slides away, I urge you to also comply and respect the rule of the Federal Character Commission in the appointment of your officers.”

Earlier, the Executive Secretary of the National Universities Commission (NUC), Prof. Abubakar Rasheed, commended the minister’s commitment to revamp the education sector, saying the calibre of persons that make up the governing councils as well as the ministerial strategic plan on education testified to his passion.

The NUC boss also lauded the Federal Government for establishing University of Health Sciences, Otukpo, saying the new specialised institution is a right step in the direction.

“All these specialised universities came about by Adamu’s vision, and it empowers specialised higher education in the sector to address the needs of the Nigerian society,” Abubakar said.

Responding, Prof. Funmilayo Monguno, who spoke on behalf of the governing councils, pledged the commitment of the councils to ensure better education and research delivery in the universities.

The AUTHORITY reports that universities whose governing councils were inaugurated are Federal University (FU), Lokoja, Kogi State- chaired by Senator Chris Adhighije; FU Lafia- Nasarawa State-chaired by Nuhu Jibril and FU Wukari, Taraba State chaired Lawrence Ubale.

Others are FU Kashere, Gombe State, FU Dustin-ma, Katsina State, Alex Ekwueme University, Ndufu Alike, Ebonyi State, FU Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State; FU Otuoke, Bayelsa State, FU Birnin Kebbi, Kebbi State, FU Gashua, Yobe State, FU Gasau, Zamfara State, FU Dutse, Jigawa State and University of Health Sciences, Oturkpo.

Related Posts

1 comment

Basiru Yusuf Abubakar July 15, 2020 at 18:14

We are wishes them the best.


Leave a Comment

This News Site uses cookies to improve reading experience. We assume this is OK but if not, please do opt-out. Accept Read More