Chief Anadu leads new Anambra towns FCT exco

By  Daniel Tyokua

Anambra State Towns (People) Association, ASTPA, has inaugurated the newly-elected executives that will run the affairs of the union for three-year tenure, with Chief Arinze Anadu as the new President-General.

This followed the successful discharge of the assignments handed over to the Engr. (Ezennia) Ike Iwenofu-led executive since 2015.

In his speech, Engr. Iwenofu who expressed satisfaction at the support given to his leadership said the association, which was established in 2003 as an umbrella body of the various town unions from Anambra state in the FCT, has discharged its assignments creditably.

He explained that on his assumption of office in 2015, members’ welfare was a key issue that led to the establishment of Grand Life Assurance, Group Health Insurance, effective multiple purpose cooperative societies, skills acquisition and youths empowerment programmes by ASTPA.

Other achievements he listed included in-house lecture on contemporary issues of interest to the town unions in particular and Ndi Anambra in general, mediation in resolving conflicts among some member town unions and development of a robust and sustainable in-house fund raising template for the union’s activities.

Iwenofu urged the new executive “to sustain the unity, love and peace among members, especially the mobilization of members for good works.”

He pledged his commitment towards ensuring that the union succeeds in carrying out the activities it lined up in the coming years.

In his acceptance speech, the 4th President-General, Chief Arinze Anadu, unveiled a 10-point agenda of transparency, responsiveness, welfare of members, reconciliation, conducive meeting venue, youths and members’ skills acquisition.

He pledged that under his leadership, “ASTPA will have a pride of place, ASTPA’s relationship with government and strategic shareholders and review of ASTPA constitution will be paramount”.

He disclosed that 141 town unions from Anambra state had already affiliated with ASTPA, Abuja branch, advising town unions that yet to register with ASTPA, to do so as soon as possible.

Others elected with Chief Anadu included Chief Okechukwu Emmanuel, Chief Festus Agbazue, Chief Michael Okeke for the positions of Deputy President-General  Secretary and Assistant General-Secretary respectively.

The positions of Treasurer, Legal Adviser, PRO and Social Welfare were occupied by Chief Fabian Obibueze, Chief Matthew Okeke, Chief Chukwuka Ezekwugo and Chief Charles Ifediora respectively.

Chief Uche Igwilo, Financial Secretary; Chief Uzo Ezeonwuneme, Assistant Financial Secretary; Chief Nestor Okeke, Provost and; Chief Chidozie Okafor, Ex – Officio, also made it to the executive.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

This News Site uses cookies to improve reading experience. We assume this is OK but if not, please do opt-out. Accept Read More